Page N4.1 . 28 April 2010                     
ArchitectureWeek - News Department
< Prev Page Next Page >
  • AIA Top Green Buildings 2010
  • 2010 BREEAM Awards
  • New York AIA Awards 2010
  • Pritzker Prize goes to SANAA
  • North American Wood

      Current Contents
      Blog Center
      Download Center
      New Products
      Products Guide
      Classic Home
      Architecture Forum
      Architects Directory
      Topics Library
      Complete Archive
      Web Directory
      About ArchWeek
      Subscribe & Contribute
      Free Newsletters


    [an error occurred while processing this directive]

    Pritzker Prize goes to SANAA

    by David Owen

    The Pritzker Architecture Prize for 2010 goes to Japanese architects Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa, partners in the Tokyo-based firm SANAA. The jury lauded the pair's work as "delicate and powerful, precise and fluid, ingenious but not overly or overtly clever... creating a sense of fullness and experiential richness." SANAA has several significant built works in Japan, with noteworthy projects in Europe and the United States as well.

    [an error occurred while processing this directive]

    The Pritzker jury cited four museum buildings as exemplars of Sejima and Nishizawa's design acumen: the O-Museum (1999) in Nagano, Japan; the 21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art (2004) in Kanazawa, Japan; the Glass Pavilion (2006) at the Toledo Museum of Art, in Toledo, Ohio; and the New Museum of Contemporary Art (2007) in New York City.

    These buildings typify the particularly expressive while still tightly disciplined minimalism that marks out SANAA's evolving style.

    Sejima is the second-ever female laureate of the prestigious award, after Zaha Hadid of the United Kingdom (2004). The 2010 selection also marks only the third time the Pritzker Prize has been awarded concurrently to two architects. In 1988, the honor went to both Oscar Niemeyer of Brazil and Gordon Bunschaft of the United States, and in 2001, Swiss partners Jacques Herzog and Pierre de Meuron shared the prize.   >>>

    Discuss this article in the Architecture Forum...


    ArchWeek Image

    Ryue Nishizawa and Kazuyo Sejima of SANAA are the 2010 laureates of the Pritzker Architecture Prize.
    Photo: Takashi Okamoto/ Courtesy SANAA Extra Large Image

    ArchWeek Image

    SANAA designed the Rolex Learning Center, which opened in March 2010 at the École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne in Lausanne, Switzerland.
    Photo: Hisao Suzuki/ Courtesy SANAA Extra Large Image


    Click on thumbnail images
    to view full-size pictures.

    < Prev Page Next Page > Send this to a friend       Subscribe       Contribute       Media Kit       Privacy       Comments
    ARCHWEEK  |  GREAT BUILDINGS  |  ARCHIPLANET  |  DISCUSSION  |  BOOKS  |  BLOGS  |  SEARCH © 2010 Artifice, Inc. - All Rights Reserved