Page N1.1 . 08 November 2006                     
ArchitectureWeek - News Department
< Prev Page Next Page >



Chicago Landmark Awards

by ArchitectureWeek

Chicago is justly proud of its architectural heritage, marked by the great American architects Louis Sullivan and Frank Lloyd Wright, by Ludwig Mies van der Rohe and, more recently, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill and Helmut Jahn. As contemporary architects follow in these illustrious footsteps, modern Chicagoans work hard to preserve their built history.

This was apparently not always the case. Examples abound of private and public buildings being neglected over the decades, or "modernized" in ways unsympathetic to their historic origins. Recent efforts to restore these gems are being rewarded by accolades from the preservation community.

In August, 2006, the Commission on Chicago Landmarks honored 21 buildings with the Chicago Landmark Award for Preservation Excellence. The awards recognize projects that have undergone extensive repairs and been brought back to their original appearance.   >>>

Discuss this article in the Architecture Forum...


ArchWeek Image

A landmark house in Chicago was suffering from neglect before owners Jamie and Anita Orlikoff restored it, earning them an award for preservation excellence.
Photo: Commission on Chicago Landmarks

ArchWeek Image

The Orlikoff House, before restoration.
Photo: Commission on Chicago Landmarks


Click on thumbnail images
to view full-size pictures.

< Prev Page Next Page > Send this to a friend       Subscribe       Contribute       Media Kit       Privacy       Comments
ARCHWEEK   |   GREAT BUILDINGS   |   DISCUSSION   |   NEW BOOKS   |   FREE 3D   |   SEARCH © 2006 Artifice, Inc. - All Rights Reserved