Page N4.2 . 07 June 2000                     
ArchitectureWeek - News Department
  • Children's Research Institute in Florida
  • Architects Technology Summit
  • AIA Convention Probes Livability
  • Koolhaas Wins Pritzker Prize
  • Gensler Wins AIA Firm Award
  • New York Bridgemarket Opens After Decades in Restoration
  • Railway Station Towers over Nagoya, Japan

      Current Contents
      Blog Center
      Download Center
      New Products
      Products Guide
      Classic Home
      Architecture Forum
      Architects Directory
      Topics Library
      Complete Archive
      Web Directory
      About ArchWeek
      Subscribe & Contribute
      Free Newsletters


    [an error occurred while processing this directive]

    Koolhaas Wins Pritzker Prize


    Rem Koolhaas was born in Rotterdam in 1944 and attended the Architecture Association School in London. He later became a visiting Fellow at the Institute for Architecture and Urban Studies in New York. In 1975 Koolhaas founded the Office for Metropolitan Architecture (OMA) in London with Madelon Vriesendorp and Elia and Zoe Zenghelis. This architecture firm is now based in Rotterdam and employs 85 architects and designers. Since 1995, Koolhaas has also been a professor at Harvard University.

    Thomas J. Pritzker, president of The Hyatt Foundation, sponsor of the Architecture Prize, calls him "a prophet of a new modern architecture." Pritzker Prize jury chairman, J. Carter Brown, comments, "Rem Koolhaas is widely respected as one of the most gifted and original talents in world architecture today. The leader of a spectacularly irreverent generation of Dutch architects, his restless mind, conceptual brilliance, and ability to make a building sing have earned him a stellar place in the firmament of contemporary design."

    The Pritzker Prize

    The purpose of the Pritzker Architecture Prize is to honor each year a living architect whose built work demonstrates a combination of talent, vision, and commitment, "which has produced consistent and significant contributions to humanity and the built environment through the art of architecture." Among previous Pritzker Architecture Prize laureates are Frank O. Gehry of the United States (1989), Fumihiko Maki of Japan (1993), and Sir Norman Foster of the United Kingdom (1999).

    The jury is chaired by J. Carter Brown, director emeritus of the National Gallery of Art in Washington D.C. and includes Giovanni Agnelli, chairman of Fiat in Torino, Italy; Ada Louise Huxtable, New York architectural critic; Jorge Silvetti chairman of the Department of Architecture at the Harvard Design School; the Lord Rothschild, former chairman of the board of trustees of the National Gallery in London; and Bill Lacy, the executive director of the Pritzker Prize and president of the State University of New York at Purchase.



    ArchWeek Photo

    The Bordeaux house.
    Photo: Hectic Pictures

    ArchWeek Photo

    The "Educatorium," or factory of learning, is shared by the faculties and research institutes of Utrecht University in the Netherlands.
    Photo: Hectic Pictures

    ArchWeek Photo

    The "Educatorium."
    Photo: OMA

    ArchWeek Photo

    One of the largest urban planning projects of the nineties in Europe was the OMA plan for Euralille, the major high speed train hub in the north of France. The business and civic center contains Koolhaas's Lille Grand Palais.
    Photo: OMA

    ArchWeek Photo

    Lille Grand Palais.
    Photo: Hectic Pictures

    < Prev Page Next Page > Send this to a friend       Advertising       Contributing       Privacy       Comments
    GREAT BUILDINGS   |   DISCUSSION   |   SCRAPBOOK   |   COMMUNITY   |   BOOKS   |   FREE 3D   |   ARTIFICE   |   SEARCH © 2000 Artifice, Inc. - All Rights Reserved